- Contact

Fake and illegal stamps

Fake and illegal topical stamps featuring minerals.

Illegal and counterfeit stamps featuring gems and minerals are common. In particular, all stamps that are supposed to have been issued by one of the republics in the Russian Federation are fakes.

Berne, 10 July 2000

International Bureau Circular 214

Russian Federation - Illegal postage stamp issues


Dear Sir/Madam

The postal administration of the RUSSIAN FEDERATION asks me to inform you of the following:

"I would like to draw your attention to our postal administration's grave concern about the illegal production and distribution of postage stamps ostensibly issued by various regions of the Russian Federation. Attached is a list of the regions in whose name illegal stamps have been issued. We were grateful to see participants attending the pilot course for Central and Eastern European countries on the promotion and development of philately, recently held in Riga (Latvia), made aware of this ever-growing proliferation of illegal stamps. We have also learned that such stamps have been openly offered for sale on the Internet for some time now.

"Not only does such a proliferation of illicit stamps do harm to philately and the Russian Federation's reputation, it also contributes to the decline of the entire philatelic market. We are therefore counting on the Universal Postal Union and the World Association for the Development of Philately (WADP) to help us find a solution to this problem immediately."

Yours faithfully,

Assistant Director-General

Annex 1

List of regions of the Russian Federation in whose name illegal stamps are being issued

  • Altai Region
  • Amurskaya Province
  • Jewish Autonomous Region
  • Franz Josef Land
  • Autonomous Region of Evenkia
  • Republic of Kabard-Balkaria
  • Kamchatka Region
  • Karachay-Cherkessia
  • Autonomous Region of Koriakia
  • Kuril islands
  • Novosibirsk islands
  • Kolguev Island
  • Kunashir Island
  • New Land Island
  • Spitsbergen Island
  • Republic of Adygea
  • Republic of Bashkortostan
  • Republic of Buriatia
  • Republic of Daghestan
  • Republic of Ingushetia
  • Republic of Ichkeria
  • Republic of Kalmykia
  • Republic of Karelia
  • Komi Republic
  • Mari-El Republic
  • Republic of Mordovia
  • Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)
  • Republic of North Ossetia
  • Republic of Tatarstan
  • Republic of Tuva
  • Republic of Khakasia
  • Russian Antarctica
  • Sakhalin Region
  • Republic of Udmurtia
  • Republic of Chuvashia